Best at It

From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own.

One of Time Out's "LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month," this is perfect for fans of Tim Federle's "Nate" series.

Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. The start of middle school is making him feel increasingly anxious, so his favorite person in the whole world, his grandfather, Bhai, gives him some well-meaning advice: find one thing you're really good at and become the BEST at it.

Those four little words sear themselves into Rahul's brain. While he's not quite sure what that special thing is, he is convinced that once he finds it, bullies like Brent Mason will stop torturing him at school. And he won't be worried about staring too long at his classmate Justin Emery. With his best friend, Chelsea, by his side, Rahul is ready to crush this challenge... But what is he discovers he isn't the best at anything?

Funny, charming, and incredibly touching, this is a story about friendship, family, and the courage it takes to live your truth.

Target age group 8-12
    • 62% off
    Cover price: $7.99, you save $4.99
  • $3.00
Qty:  
In stock (224 copies available)
    • ISBN-13
      9780062866424
    • Weight
      0.5 lbs
    • ISBN-10
      0062866427
    • Item #
      65040
  • Category
    Juvenile Fiction
  • Age Group
    9 to 12 yrs
  • Grade Level
    3-5
  • Language
    English
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Theme 1
    Social, Personal & Family Topics
  • Theme 2
    People & Places
  • Detailed (BISAC) Subject/Theme
    Bullying
  • Author
    Pancholy, Maulik
  • Lexile Level
    620
  • AR Level
    4.0
  • Dewey
    Fiction
  • Publisher
    HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date
    10/6/2020
  • Pages
    336
  • Dimensions
    0.5 H × 9.8 L × 7.2 W
  • Case Qty
    66

Customers who bought this product also bought