Brave

Perfect for fans of RAIN REIGN, this middle-grade novel is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother.

Collin can't help himself--he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him. It's a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies, and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father.

When Collin asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother he's never met. She is Ojibwe, and lives on a reservation. Collin arrives in Duluth with his loyal dog, Seven, and quickly finds his mom and his new home to be warm, welcoming, and accepting of his condition. Collin's quirk is matched by that of his neighbor, Orenda, a girl who lives mostly in her treehouse and believes she is turning into a butterfly.

With Orenda's help, Collin works hard to overcome his challenges. His real test comes when he must step up for his new friend and trust his new family.

Target age group 9-12
    • 85% off
    Cover price: $16.99, you save $14.49
  • $2.50
Qty:  
In stock (48 copies available)
    • Weight
      0.85 lbs
    • ISBN-13
      9781250247759
    • ISBN-10
      1250247756
    • Item #
      65037
  • Category
    Juvenile Fiction
  • Age Group
    9 to 12 yrs
  • Grade Level
    3-5
  • Language
    English
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Theme 1
    Social, Personal & Family Topics
  • Theme 2
    People & Places
  • Detailed (BISAC) Subject/Theme
    Depression & Mental Illness
  • Awards
  • Author
    Bird, James
  • Lexile Level
    620
  • AR Level
    4.2
  • Dewey
    Fiction
  • Publisher
    MPS (Macmillan Pub Services)
  • Publication Date
    6/30/2020
  • Pages
    320
  • Dimensions
    1.2 H × 8.3 L × 5.5 W
  • Case Qty
    35

Customers who bought this product also bought