Lord of the Mountain

Nate's family has a secret, and it's wrapped up in a song. The problem is, his preacher father hates music, and when he catches Nate hanging around downtown Bristol with musicians like Jimmie Rodgers and the Carter Family, he comes down hard on him. So Nate sets out in search of himself and the song he thinks will heal his family.

Set during the big bang of country music in the late 1920s, Nate's journey of self-discovery parallels that of a region finding its voice for the first time.

"Beautiful and intelligent historical fiction in the vein of Christopher Paul Curtis, Vince Vawter, and Mildred D. Taylor. A must-have for school and public library collections." --School Library Journal starred review

2019 Paterson Prize for Books for Young People Honor Book
2019 Jefferson Cup Award Honor Book for Young Readers

The Best Children's Books of the Year 2019, Bank Street College

Target age group 9-12
    • 85% off
    Cover price: $16.99, you save $14.49
  • $2.50
Qty:  
In stock (168 copies available)
    • ISBN-13
      9780807547519
    • Weight
      0.9 lbs
    • ISBN-10
      0807547514
    • Item #
      66207
  • Category
    Juvenile Fiction
  • Age Group
    9 to 12 yrs
  • Grade Level
    3-5
  • Language
    English
  • Binding
    Hardcover
  • Theme 1
    Social, Personal & Family Topics
  • Theme 2
    History
  • Detailed (BISAC) Subject/Theme
    Performing Arts
  • Awards
  • Author
    Kidd, Ronald
  • Lexile Level
    610
  • AR Level
    4.1
  • Dewey
    Fiction
  • Publisher
    Albert Whitman & Company
  • Publication Date
    9/1/2018
  • Pages
    296
  • Dimensions
    1.2 H × 8.1 L × 5.4 W
  • Case Qty
    20