Poet X (Paperback)

National Book Award and Golden Kite Honor Award Winner!
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.
Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.
But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.
With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.
Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.
Target age group 13 and up
    • 35% off
    Cover price: $14.99, you save $5.25
  • $9.74
Qty:  
In stock (29 copies available)
    • ISBN-13
      9780062662811
    • Weight
      0.6 lbs
    • ISBN-10
      0062662813
    • Item #
      55708
  • Category
    Young Adult Fiction
  • Age Group
    13 to 14 yrs
  • Grade Level
    6-8
  • Language
    English
  • Binding
    Paperback
  • Theme 1
    Social, Personal & Family Topics
  • Detailed (BISAC) Subject/Theme
    United States - Hispanic & Latino
  • Awards
    National Book Award; Michael L. Printz Award; Pura Belpre Award
  • Author
    Acevedo, Elizabeth
  • Lexile Level
    800 HL
  • AR Level
    5.2
  • Dewey
    Fiction
  • Publisher
    HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date
    4/7/2020
  • Pages
    384
  • Dimensions
    1.0 H x 7.9 L x 5.4 W
  • Case Qty
    52

Customers who bought this product also bought